Information for a Visual Age

My new bag: Timmy’s Tactical Attache

In Technology on August 10, 2010 at 1:05 pm

I just got the Timmy’s Tactical Attache from Thinkgeek.com. Prior to buying the bag, I searched the internet looking for reviews of the bag. I didn’t find much, and there weren’t many pictures on the Thinkgeek site, so I’m posting my own review here.

Overall, the bag is impressively well made. The matieral is a bit thin but the fit and finish are fairly good (with a few exceptions that I note below). The bag is on the smallish side. It’s perfect for me, but don’t think that you’ll be hauling around your collection of oversize atlases in this bag.

(Click any image to enlarge)

Timmy's front (click for larger image)

The bag has 4 protuding pockets on what I call the “front” side. The two larger pockets on either side have adjustable velcro on two sides. It’s hard to describe but what it allows you to do is adjust the depth of the pocket to exactly how you need it. Very cool.

Timmy's side view (click for larger)

Here’s a side view. Not much to see here, except that the hardware connecting the strap to the bag is metal — excellent touch that makes it feel more secure.

The side pockets have an elastic bungee that can make them larger or smaller. It can also be removed via a velcro tab — another nice touch.

This is the back view. There is a long skinny pocket on the bottom, sized for a flashlight, baton, compact umbrella, or something similarly long and thin. When I’m traveling I might throw in an emergency pair of socks and t-shirt here. There is also a rectangular pocket above it, about 4×8″. Both of these pockets close with a slightly flimsy zipper. If any part of the bag breaks, I can see one of these zippers being the culprit.

The size pockets are generously sized. Here I have a 1 liter water bottle in one side, with room to spare. Here you can see I’ve removed the elastic bungee.

The inside is roomy. I got some old college textbooks and it easily swallowed these up with some room to spare. I’d estimate these books were at least 8″ think, maybe more. There is a removable stiffener down the center that helps to organize the contents of the bag.

Here you can see the front of the bag with a couple of the pockets opened. Note that the center top pocket is divided into two, very small pockets. The smallest will probably hold a contact lens case, while the larger might hold an iPod Shuffle. They are really quite small. The lower center pocket will easily hold a cell phone or iPhone.

 

There is also an outside full length pocket that is useful for holding papers, passport, boarding documents, newspaper (folded), or other items of that sort. It closes very securely via velcro (Thinkgeek says a zipper). You can also see the main zippered compartment closed in this picture — the zipper here is a large, heavy duty kind that I’m sure will not jam or break (in contract to the smaller zippers on the side).

Overall, I’m quite pleased with the bag. I’m taking it on a businses trip in a few weeks and I’ll let you know how that goes.

  1. Hey! I recognize some of those books. 🙂
    That looks like the sort of bag I would love to own. Plenty of pockets for maximum organization. I think it might be a little too small for my laptop, and considering I just bought a new bag for my laptop last year… *sigh* Anyway…
    Great review!

    • Yes — I’ve carried the books across the country through 3 (soon to be 4) different apartments, on the vague notion that I might use them again “someday.” How silly.

      Depends on the size of our laptop whether it will fit or not. I’d say it might fit a 13-14″ screen but probably not something larger. I can measure it if you want. … There’s also no padding in the bag, so you might have to figure that in to the size.

      It fits my 9″ netbook with plenty of room to spare.

  2. Great review.
    Could you tell me which is the brand of the bag (the company who produce it) , please ?

    I am searching the bag in Europe.
    Thank you.

  3. Thank you.
    I knew that, but I was talking about the phisical producer of the bag. Thinkgeek.com 9 times to 10 always resells things and sometimes has got some exclusive items. I already buy some product from them.
    In one of the photographs of Thinkgeek there is a visible label attached to the bag, but I can not read the company on the label.

    Do you know the “real” brand of the bag (maybe it is written in a label inside the bag) ?

    Thank you again for your attention and courtesy.

    Best Regards.

  4. Thank you.
    I knew that, but I was talking about the phisical producer of the bag.
    Thinkgeek.com 9 times to 10 always resells things and sometimes has got some exclusive items.
    I already buy some product from them.

    In one of the photographs of Thinkgeek there is a visible label attached to the bag, but I can not read the company on the label.

    Do you know the “real” brand of the bag (maybe it is written in a label inside the bag) ?

    Thank you again for your attention and courtesy.

    Best Regards.

  5. I discovered that the bag is the Bailout bag by LA Police Gear.

  6. Man, that looks nice . . . pockets always get me! I’m just packing a netbook these days so it might be a bit much – still, gonna check out those two websites to see what else they offer.

    • Yeah, I like the bag. I just flew to Tokyo and it was one of my carry-on bags. It fits upright under the seat in front of me with room left for my feet beside it. The outside pockets allow easy access to my glasses, headphones, cell phone, etc. … It would be a little much if you were only carrying a netbook, but if you want to also carry a book or two, files, etc., then it’s great. I can fit a netbook, my big DSLR camera, plus a few books and files.

  7. The bag is made by Condor Outdoor Products. Think Geek SWEARS they make the bag themselves but it’s from Condor.

    *edited*

  8. thank u so much for this review & great large pictures , i was looking for a review like this now i can decide if im going to buy it 🙂 .. i think i do 🙂

Leave a Reply

